The Fire Balloons

Published July 17, 2017 by KEPRI

I believe “The Fire Balloons” is a Ray Bradbury short story, published in The Illustrated Man.

Anyway, I finally got to attend the Hudson Valley Hot Air Balloon Festival, after years of saying I wanted to go. The best part: I went with the Hudson Valley Steampunks! We are a Meetup group, run by two awesome ladies who go by Dolly and Birdie. The steampunk in me couldn’t be happier. What was possibly more entertaining than the festival itself was the work I did in Photoshop afterwards! I had some fun in post production with a few quick fixes. Here are the results!

And, if you’d like your own vintage photograph, and enjoy the fictional 19th Century world that is Steampunk, come on down! This coming weekend (July 21-22) I will be vending at Steampunk Honesdale. That’s in Honesdale, PA. They’ll even have a locomotive!! In addition to selling my terrariums I will be offering vintage photo sessions. That means I will be offering professional shots and an 8×10 print of YOU in costume! Antiqued to look like the images below, of course. The price? Only $20! So come one, come all, dressed in gears, leathers, ‘n lace, and celebrate an awesome past that never was.

 

If, by chance, you absolutely must follow my every move, have a gander at
my ye olde Instant Gram.

4 comments on “The Fire Balloons

  • Hi Renee’, I was at the Honesdale Steampunk event yesterday and you took our photos. Will you be posting any more of those any time soon? I know you’re busy but I was just wondering. Thank you in advance

    • Yes, hello, Tracy! I will be posting the photos this week! I’m going to be editing them a bunch at a time and when they are complete I’ll upload them all. They should be up no later than Friday. Cheers!

  • Leave a Reply

